Symptom Management: Restless Leg Syndrome

Introduction 

Hey, welcome back to the Thyroidcafe – we are discussing Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS) this week, so maybe I’ll switch to decaf for this blog? For years I suffered every night. Fighting the urge to move my legs, though I didn’t give it much thought. After ignoring this symptom, I finally did my research. The many solutions and even prescriptions available were a pleasant surprise.

My experience and symptoms 

I lay in my exhaustion. I self-medicated thyroid disease with a dozen cups of coffee, yet my eyes screamed for sleep. Yet my legs marched on. I would rub them together until wounds wore on my feet. Occurring at night or lying down, my symptoms were by the book. RLS is defined as restlessness only revived by moving your legs.  It is common in those with chronic illnesses and those with a genetic predisposition to it. So my legs wiggled with the energy I’d wished to contain for the next day. 

At Home Solutions 

After asking my online friends for at home solutions and doing my research, the response overwhelmed me. Happily, there are many solutions to RLS. Vitamin D, Iron and Magnesium are the most common dietary solutions to RLS. Magnesium can be taken as a pill or rubbed in. For me, this was the solution to RLS. The ever taxing Epsom salt bath is another popular solution and one of my favorites. I also take CBD oil. It calms both mental and physical restlessness.  If your legs are still defiant, massage and stretching may calm them, along with exercise. I had to laugh at the suggestion that RLS could be solved by getting more sleep, hello vicious cycle. Lastly, the Relaxis pad and weighted blankets were recommended. I haven’t tried either, but would love to know if they work. 


This product was recommended by fellow thyroid warrior, though I haven’t tried it myself.

More than an apple a day: Help from the Doctor 

Despite my foolish pride and overly ambitious online endeavors, one must seek help when needed. From a less invasive perspective, chiropractic care can provide relief. I fear recommending medication because of the side effects. However Ropinirole is commonly and effectively used. Ask your doctor for help if at-home remedies are not working for you. 

Conclusion: 

There are active solutions to our active legs. Through at-home and medical intervention, RLS can be one of the most manageable thyroid symptoms. For me, vitamin supplements and Epsom salt baths were the solutions. A few pills in the morning and a relaxing bath is the kind of symptom management I can handle. 

2 thoughts on “Symptom Management: Restless Leg Syndrome

  1. I have RLS too. When I walk regularly on the track, the symptoms dissipate. But it’s been so hot, I’ve been walking the treadmill in the air conditioned gym. Of course, I could get up at 6am and walk, but I’m retired and like to have my coffee and morning devotion time. So, my wife has been giving me 2 instead of 1 Vitamin D supplements. That has pretty much stopped my symptoms except for an occasional night of RLS. Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a comment